Who we help and what we do

Experiencing a crime first-hand can change your life in a single moment. Almost everyone feels that their personal safety has been compromised for a long time after the event. It is common to feel anger and fear as a result, and a lingering sense of hopelessness. Many people suffer from symptoms such as sleepnessness, nightmares and internal unrest. For those who witness a crime, the trial that ensues is often an extreme burden, not least because they have to give evidence. They may also have the fear of reliving the trauma.
Opferhilfe Berlin e.V. provides direct support to the victims and witnesses of crime and their families during these critical situations. We help them to come to terms with the experience, showing them what opportunities exist and advising them about the most appropriate action to take – no matter whether they are affected by stalking, domestic violence, burglary or other forms of violence. We support children and teenagers using methods appropriate for their age.
We always tailor our counselling sessions to suit the needs of those concerned. You can choose between a male or female counsellor. Especially if you are a man who has been affected by domestic violence, it may help you to speak to someone of the same sex. Depending on your preferences, we can organise counselling for individuals, couples and family groups. If required, we can provide contacts to other professional service providers, including therapists who specialise in trauma and solicitors. Furthermore, we can help you with any necessary formalities such as completing applications.
Our staff are specialists in their field and work for us on a full-time basis. As a result, we can offer quick support without any red tape and a thoroughly professional service.

Wem wir helfen und was wir tun

Eine Straftat unmittelbar zu erleben, kann das eigene Leben schlagartig verändern. Das persönliche Sicherheitsgefühl ist fast immer nachhaltig erschüttert. Wut und Angst sind häufig die Folge – zurück bleibt ein Gefühl der Ausweglosigkeit. Vielfach kommen Symptome wie Schlaflosigkeit, Albträume, innere Unruhe hinzu. Für Zeug*innen einer Straftat ist eine bevorstehende Verhandlung und die damit verbundene Zeugenaussage oft extrem belastend. Zur Aufregung kann die Angst hinzu kommen, das Geschehen noch einmal durchleben zu müssen.
Die Opferhilfe Berlin e.V. steht Opfern oder Zeug*innen einer Straftat und deren Angehörigen in dieser kritischen Situation zur Seite. Wir unterstützen sie dabei, das Erlebte zu verarbeiten, zeigen ihnen die bestehenden Möglichkeiten und beraten sie zu sinnvollen nächsten Schritten – ganz gleich, ob Sie von Stalking, häuslicher Gewalt, Einbruch oder sonstiger Gewalt betroffen sind. Kinder und Jugendliche begleiten wir mit altersgerechten Methoden.
Unsere Beratung orientiert sich immer an den Bedürfnissen der Betroffenen. Sie können zwischen einem Berater oder einer Beraterin wählen. Gerade wenn Sie von häuslicher Gewalt betroffen sind, mag es für Sie hilfreich sein, eine/n gleichgeschlechtlichen Ansprechpartner*in zu haben. Wir organisieren die Beratung ganz nach Wunsch als Einzel-, Paar- oder Familiengespräch. Bei Bedarf vermitteln wir Kontakte zu anderen Fachkräften, wie zum Beispiel auf Trauma spezialisierte Therapeut*innen oder Rechtsanwält*innen. Außerdem helfen wir bei notwendigen Formalitäten, wie bei Antragsstellungen.
Unsere Mitarbeiter*innen haben sich fachlich spezialisiert und arbeiten hauptberuflich bei uns. So können wir nicht nur unbürokratisch und schnell helfen, sondern auch hochprofessionell.